How much has the community benefited from Dundee’s transformation?


I was out on my cyclocross bike this afternoon and decided to head up to Caird Park to see if I could find the old ‘cross course from a few years ago. My route took me up through Camperdown (some good trails by the way!) and from there through the Dryburgh Industrial Estate. It was around there that I got lost.

Although I had my iPhone with me, being I bloke I was sure I’d be able to find my way on the back roads to Caird Park without it. So off I went! out towards the Sidlaws it turned out. My route took me through Kirkton & Trottick, before eventually I made it back to Claverhouse Road and into the park.

My journey through those areas, with boarded up shops & houses, got me thinking. The transformation of Dundee has been fantastic, but what has it meant for the poorer areas of the city? What jobs do these people do, if any? If you’re creative or do a ‘professional’ job, then there will be lots of opportunities for you in Dundee. But what if you’re not? What if you leave school at 16, with no qualifications? What do you do?

The manufacturing companies that were once the main employers in the city are no longer there, replaced by lots of small businesses. Like many cities today, the council is the largest employer. What does the transformation, the City of Culture, mean for these people? What does their future hold?

How much has the community benefited from Dundee’s transformation?

Leave a Reply

