Spring’s coming….


Training on the turbo is okay, it’s something I’ve got myself used to over the past few years, indeed sometimes it’s better for specific training sessions. That’s okay midweek, when training is done before or after work. It’s dark then anyway. But the weekends are for riding outside.

I spend the week working in an office. I go in in the morning, usually take my lunch with me, so often I don’t see the light of day from Monday to Friday during the winter. It’s pretty bleak. One of the things that gets you through those dark days is the prospect of riding your bike again come the weekend. So when the weather puts paid to that, it’s pretty bad.

Finally, after four weeks of training indoors, we got out on the road this weekend. It was surprisingly mild, about 5-6 degrees both days. No need for the winter jacket, it was long-sleeved jersey & gilet both days. I still wear winter leggings though – those will stay on until it’s at least 10 degrees, and then I’ll swap to leg warmers. Over 15 and it’s shorts (unless I’m racing and have to wear them in colder temperatures), but not below.

Both mornings were cold to begin with. I wasn’t sure if I’d been too optimistic with my choice of spring gloves and a cycling cap rather than winter hat under my helmet. But after 20 minutes of effort I’d warmed up.

2.5 hours solo on Saturday, and then almost 4 with a small group today, it felt great to get back outdoors. Flying down the descents, and sprinting out of corners, the prospect of the season ahead was almost tangible.

It’s not long now until our racing begins. Eurosport has racing to tease us with. This week Qatar, next week Oman & the Algarve. Before long the semi-classics will begin. Het Nieuwsblad and Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne are only two weeks away.

It’s difficult not to get excited, but the reality is we’re in Scotland. Next week it could snow. But even if it does, it’ll be March soon and in just 6 weeks I’ll be on the startline for the first time in 2012.

Spring is definitely on the way…..

Spring’s coming….

2 thoughts on “Spring’s coming….

  1. “I spend the week working in an office. I go in in the morning, usually take my lunch with me, so often I don’t see the light of day from Monday to Friday during the winter. It’s pretty bleak. One of the things that gets you through those dark days is the prospect of riding your bike again come the weekend.”
    ^ Replace bike with run and I completely agree with this Ali! I’ve been proud of myself for dilligently getting out after work in the dark throughout the winter but it’s so hard at times. Bring on the long summer evenings!

  2. What put me off running, and back onto the bike Rhona, was the cold wet nights. I realised I liked running, but not as much as I loved my bike. Roll on the lighter nights!

    You’ve been doing some epic mileage recently. You have my utmost respect 🙂

Leave a Reply

