Unfinished Business


A few weeks back, in a blog post called Noticing Stuff, I wrote about not being a racing cyclist anymore. It had been a crap season, marred by my broken collarbone at the start of the winter and then a crash in Mallorca at training camp. I had lost my motivation to race, I wasn’t enjoying it, and in the summer started to try a few other things – mountain biking and then running.

I found that I quite enjoyed running, so bought myself some kit and started training. It was going pretty well until the weather started to turn. I found that I didn’t have the same desire to train in bad weather as I did on the bike. It was a struggle, and before I knew it, 3 weeks had gone past and I hadn’t run a yard!

Time is a great healer, and it also helps get perspective. Since starting my winter bike training again, even on the turbo, I realised that I love being on the bike. I liked running, but I *love* cycling. I’m also not a quitter, and don’t give up on things easily.

And so, I made a decision. Stop running. Concentrate all of the available training time on the bike.

I feel as though I have unfinished business on the bike. I want to race again, to feel the thrill of racing in a peloton, to give everything I’ve got in a time trial. To race my bike.

And so it is. I’m back. I may not be great, but I’m going to work really hard, with the limited training time that I have, to be the best that I can be.

Bring it on 2012!

 

Unfinished Business

2 thoughts on “Unfinished Business

  1. Good on you Ali! A Moto I have stuck by this last year since going back to college – “doing what you are meant to do doesn’t mean you have to give up doing what you enjoy to do”. Good luck back on the bike!!

Leave a Reply

