All That’s wrong with this country!


Earlier this week I had the pleasure of meeting Mark Jennings, or @markofrespect as many of you will know him. The following day Mark wrote a great blog at http://www.clicktoexit.com/ on the herd mentality, which seemed to strike a chord with so many of us.

Mark inspired me to put some of my own thoughts down, so here you go.

From a young age in this country we’re taught to conform. Now, discipline is important, but it’s stifling the hell out of creativity! Britain won’t be Great again until we find a way of enabling EVERYONE to express themselves and to feel confident enough to challenge the norms.

I remember when I was studying accountancy 20 years ago. We had a module on queuing theory! Only in the UK could you have this! We’d turned queuing into a science!

One of the worst cases of this type of excess I ever came across was at a company in Perthshire. I was visiting them with a view to having them do some creative work for us. However, from the moment I walked through the door they were, without realising it, doing everything possible to LOSE my business. The receptionist was glum. The waiting area resembled the worst ’80’s doctors waiting room that you can imagine, and worst of all, they had a sign prominently displayed with a list of NO’s – Things you couldn’t do! And this was how they treated visitors, can you imagine how they treated their staff? Automotons………

Jeez, they were awful. And funnily enough they didn’t win our business!

So what can we all do to drive this change? As Mark says, choose the closed door; take the path less travelled; always ask why? Sure, it will piss a lot of people off and you’ll make a name for yourself as an upstart.

But isn’t that the best way to be?

All That’s wrong with this country!

9 thoughts on “All That’s wrong with this country!

  1. Questioning is the only way to really make people think – all to often we become set in our own ways, but ‘how dare you question me’ is an all too often cliche!

    We have to embrace change, I feel those who don’t will just get left were they started!

  2. Completely agree.

    I have an abiding memory of being in Primary 7 and solving a relatively challenging problem with a creative solution. Just because this wasn’t what the text book said, I was told I was wrong and put firmly in my place. Even though I could prove I was also right and everyon else in class agreed with me, the end result, after a short one sided debate with the dictatorial teacher was punishment rather then encouragement. Safe to say I felt stupid for trying something different. Funnily enough I stopped trying as much at school after that.

    Count me in for the creative thinking revoltion when it happens…..

  3. This post says it all, I can add nothing except this:

    The Road Not Taken

    TWO roads diverged in a yellow wood,
    And sorry I could not travel both
    And be one traveler, long I stood
    And looked down one as far as I could
    To where it bent in the undergrowth;

    Then took the other, as just as fair,
    And having perhaps the better claim,
    Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
    Though as for that the passing there
    Had worn them really about the same,

    And both that morning equally lay
    In leaves no step had trodden black.
    Oh, I kept the first for another day!
    Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
    I doubted if I should ever come back.

    I shall be telling this with a sigh
    Somewhere ages and ages hence:
    Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
    I took the one less traveled by,
    And that has made all the difference

  4. I agree with you to a certain extent. There is nothing wrong with conformity as such. The real crime is not teaching our people to think or to experience.

    We don’t let our children make mistakes anymore we wrap them in cotton wool. Sending them to softplays instead of climbing trees. We drive them to school instead of letting them walk in the rain

    When they’re older at School we teach them how to pass exams instead of understanding the principles of WHY behind that knowledge.

    When they go to work we give them protocols to follow and pro-formas to use. Even social media has its rules at work.

    We’re not allowed to tell the truth in appraisals. We have to sugar coat it and concentrate on the good points.

    We then stifle Common sense in Health and safety regulation.

    To allow our people to grow we need to allow them question, to think, experiment and do things wrong, because in doing things wrong they may actually get something right and we can all grow with that.

    1. Totally agree with you Daniel. Now, how do we go about achieving this shift? Every day I hear another ridiculous health & safety story. It’s time for change…..

Leave a Reply

